April Minutes

April 2, 2013


The meeting was called to order by President Julie Maturo at 12:05 at Shady Hill.


Minutes – the minutes were read by Glorianne Campbell and approved with a motion by Lorraine Ochsner and seconded by Sue Boyle.

Treasurerʼs Report – Ellie Byrnes reported the current balances in the GGC accounts. Ellie reminded everyone about the May 18 Bridge Walk for Living Well and the forming of our Garden Club team.

May Luncheon Julie Brown reported that 34 have signed up to date. The deadline is April 26.


Guest Introduction Natalie Rajcevich, one of our Garden Walk home owners was our guest.

Civic Projects– Knuckle – Chris Shaw announced that spring clean up and planting will take place on April 6 at 8:00 a.m. 

Scholarship – Karen Bielski announced that we now have four applicants, the winner will be selected at the next Board Meeting.

Garden Walk 2013– Debbie Notaro reported that tickets will be sold at eight locations. Members can buy their tickets at the May luncheon or through Ellie Byrnes or on line. Kathleen Harrington is the chair of the park location and is seeking members to sign up to bake items for sale at the park. Members are asked to contact Kathleen, as well, if you have tablecloths that could be used for tables in the park. Geneva High School students will be serving and clearing tables.

Historians– Annette Barnes reported on the wonderful prizes that will be available for the quiz on Garden Club History to be held at the luncheon. Theresa Jaeger has donated some beautiful jewelry items.

Hospitality– Jane Martin introduced Kathy Wengronowitz who in turn introduced her committee for the day.

Membership– Kristie Dienst reminded members that dues are due by May 1. She also introduced a new member, Judy LeBlanc.

Other Business– Jessica Dean presented the slate of officers for 2013-14. Julie Maturo continues her term as President, Vice-Presidents are Mary Stavenhagen and Arlene Grandt, Treasurer Ellie Byrnes and Secretary Glorianne Campbell. The slate was accepted with a motion by Gail Ellenbaum with a second by Diane Ramm. Jessica Dean mentioned that our ’08-’09 scholarship winner is thrilled to be graduating from Iowa this year.

Adjournment– the meeting was adjourned at 12:40 with a motion by Ellie Byrnes and seconded by Bonnie Kovacs.